Leafs News
McCollum, Overseas Elite Take Third Straight TBT Crown
News Photo
Men's Basketball - Thu, Aug. 3, 2017

BALTIMORE — Twenty-two players have won three consecutive NBA titles since the league merged with the American Basketball Association in 1976. Thursday night, seven players claimed the first three-peat in the four-year history of The Basketball Tournament.

And just like the 1990s Chicago Bulls, who won three straight titles two separate times with Scottie Pippen at small forward, Overseas Elite had a player who wore purple in the NAIA in its midst: 2010 Goshen College alumnus Errick McCollum.

McCollum averaged 13.7 points per game in the tournament, which his team capped with an 86-83 win over Team Challenge ALS in the final at Coppin State University. Team Challenge ALS opened a lead that grew as large as 13 points in the first half, but the last of the 14 lead changes went Overseas Elite's way with about four minutes remaining.

Tournament MVP Kyle Fogg iced the game at the foul line with 1.6 seconds to play, and after a final try sailed wide right, Overseas Elite claimed their third straight title and a $2 million prize.

McCollum, who graduated as Goshen's leading scorer with 2,789 points, played 19 minutes in the championship, finishing with two points and two rebounds. He finished the tournament with 82 points, third-most on the team, in 27.0 minutes per game, second-most on the team.

He led Overseas Elite with a .520 clip from 3-point range after draining 13 of his 25 tries, finishing the tournament with 24 rebounds, 9 assists, 9 steals and 4 blocks.

Overseas Elite improves to 19-0 all-time in The Basketball Tournament, winning seven games in their 2015 title run and six in each of the past two events. The teams have combined to claim $5 million in prize money and McCollum has scored 277 points, an average of 14.6 per game.

Among the eight teams that reached the quarterfinals, McCollum was the only player to have played college basketball below the NCAA Division I level. He graduated with the Maple Leafs' career records in five categories (2,789 points, 814 free throws, 1,902 field-goal attempts, 236 steals and 96 blocks) and scored 22.8 points per game or better in each of his final three seasons.

"I'm incredibly proud of 'E' and all the success he's had since graduation," said Goshen head coach Neal Young, an assistant during McCollum's college career. "He is such a great example of how far being loyal, working your tail off, and being humble can take you."

A seven-year pro veteran, McCollum will return to Turkey's Super League with Anadolu Efes this season. He has also played in Israel, Greece and China, setting the latter country's single-game scoring record with 82 points in a 2015 game. In addition, his career has included a Eurocup MVP trophy and a stint in the NBA Summer League with the Denver Nuggets in 2014.

The Basketball Tournament, an annual event since 2014, is a single-elimination, 5-on-5 basketball tournament open to any player 18 and older. Teams were created by general managers and voted on by the public: 60 teams qualified directly into the tournament with 16 reaching regional "play-in" jamborees.

The NBA has seen three three-peats since its merger: the Chicago Bulls of 1991-93 and 1996-98 had Pippen, a Central Arkansas alumnus who played four years in the NAIA, hoisting a trophy on basketball's highest stage. The Los Angeles Lakers of 2000-02 had Indiana roots in the person of Rick Fox, who moved from the Bahamas to attend Warsaw High School, some 25 miles from Goshen. And the first Bulls' run even had a player with Hoosier college connections: point guard John Paxson played at Notre Dame.

But Overseas Elite did something none of the NBA teams could do: got their NAIA and Hoosier connections from the same person.

NBA Players With Three Consecutive Titles On Same Team (Since 1976 Merger)
B.J. Armstrong (Bulls, 1991-93 — Iowa)
Randy Brown (Bulls, 1996-98 — New Mexico State)
Kobe Bryant (Lakers, 2000-02 — no college basketball)
Jud Buechler (Bulls, 1996-98 — Arizona)
Bill Cartwright (Bulls, 1991-93 — San Francisco)
Derek Fisher (Lakers, 2000-02 — Arkansas-Little Rock)
Rick Fox (Lakers, 2000-02 — North Carolina)
Horace Grant (Bulls, 1991-93 — Clemson)
Ron Harper (Bulls, 1996-98 — Miami [Ohio])
Robert Horry (Lakers, 2000-02 — Alabama)
Michael Jordan (Bulls, 1991-93 and 1996-98 — North Carolina)
Steve Kerr (Bulls, 1996-98 — Arizona)
Stacey King (Bulls, 1991-93 — Oklahoma)
Toni Kukoc (Bulls, 1996-98 — educated in Croatia)
Luc Longley (Bulls, 1996-98 — New Mexico)
Shaquille O'Neal (Lakers, 2000-02 — LSU)
John Paxson (Bulls, 1991-93 — Notre Dame)
Will Perdue (Bulls, 1991-93 — Vanderbilt)
Scottie Pippen (Bulls, 1991-93 and 1996-98 — Central Arkansas)
Dennis Rodman (Bulls, 1996-98 — Southeastern Oklahoma State)
Brian Shaw (Lakers, 2000-02 — UC-Santa Barbara)
Scott Williams (Bulls, 1991-93 — North Carolina)

Three-Time Winners of The Basketball Tournament
Travis Bader (Oakland)
Kyle Fogg (Arizona)
Paris Horne (St. John's)
Johndre Jefferson (South Carolina)
D.J. Kennedy (St. John's)
Errick McCollum II (Goshen)
Todd O'Brien (St. Joseph's [Pa.])