Leafs News
Maple Leaf Record-Holder Errick McCollum Set For Three-Peat Try On ESPN Thursday
News Photo
Men's Basketball - Wed, Aug. 2, 2017

BALTIMORE — Errick McCollum II, who finished his career as the leading scorer in the history of Goshen College men's basketball, and his Overseas Elite team will play on ESPN Thursday evening with a $2 million prize at stake in the finals of The Basketball Tournament.

Overseas Elite, the two-time defending champion, will meet Team Challenge ALS at 7 p.m. EDT in Coppin State University's Physical Education Center.

McCollum scored a team-high 18 points and went 5-for-7 from 3-point range Tuesday night in his team's 81-77 win over Boeheim's Army. He was the lone player among the eight teams in the quarterfinals who did not play NCAA Division I college basketball.

In Overseas Elite's five games so far, he leads the team with 16.0 points per game, 23 field goals and a .565 clip from beyond the arc while tying for a team best with nine steals. His .778 mark at the foul line is second on the team, as are his three blocks and 28.6 minutes per game.

A seven-year professional veteran who saw NBA Summer League action with the Denver Nuggets in 2014, McCollum won the Eurocup championship and was named Eurocup MVP in 2015-16 while playing for Turkish club Galatasaray. He has also played professionally in Israel, Greece and China, and set the Chinese Basketball Association's single-game scoring record with 82 points as a Zheijang Golden Bull in 2015. In July, he signed with Turkish club Anadolu Efes for the 2017-18 season.

McCollum was the second NAIA All-American in Goshen men's basketball history during a four-year career from 2006-10. He graduated with the Maple Leafs' career records in five categories (2,789 points, 814 free throws, 1,902 field-goal attempts, 236 steals and 96 blocks) and scored 22.8 points per game or better in each of his final three seasons.

The Basketball Tournament, an annual event since 2014, is a single-elimination, 5-on-5 basketball tournament open to any player 18 and older. Teams were created by general managers and voted on by the public, with 64 teams qualifying for the tournament.

Overseas Elite won the 2015 tournament with a 67-65 victory over Team 23 and the 2016 edition with a 77-72 triumph over Team Colorado. The seven team members who have appeared in all three tournaments include McCollum, Travis Bader, Kyle Fogg, Paris Horne, Johndre Jefferson, D.J. Kennedy and Todd O'Brien.

Since the National Basketball Association merged with the American Basketball Association in 1976, only three teams (the 1991-93 Chicago Bulls, the 1996-98 Bulls and the 2000-02 Los Angeles Lakers) have won three consecutive titles. No team has won three straight men's basketball championships in either of the NAIA's two divisions or any of the NCAA's three divisions since the NCAA Division I tournament expanded to 64 teams in 1985.