Leafs News
Maple Leafs Athletic Club Golf Scramble Features Third Straight Triple-Digit Field
News Photo
Leafs - Wed, Jul. 12, 2017

GOSHEN, Ind. — More than 100 golfers took part in the Maple Leafs Athletic Club's annual golf scramble Wednesday afternoon at Maplecrest Country Club on Goshen's north side. The outing represents the biggest annual fundraiser for the official support group of Goshen College athletics.

Despite a weather delay of nearly 90 minutes about one-fourth of the way through the round, the field was able to complete play on a muggy July afternoon. While the number of groups trailed behind the 2015 and 2016 scrambles, which were the two largest events in the last decade, the number of golfers passed 100 and the number of corporate sponsors set a new high-water mark, each for the third straight year.

Joe Greasor, Ron Miller, Ted Springer and Charlie Steiner claimed the "A" flight title on a tiebreaker over Evan Atkinson, Al BeMiller, Wes BeMiller and Arron Patrick. Both groups finished with 54 strokes on the par-71, 6,371-yard course, a one-shot improvement on 2016's winning score. 

Kevin Deary, Ken Hochstetler, John King and Gregg Nussbaum took top honors in the "B" flight with a 60, beating out four groups that shot 62 or better. In the senior flight, Wayne Lambright, Merle Mullett, Pete Short and Ken Warren paced all groups with a 63. The "B" flight total was three shots higher than its 2016 counterpart while the senior champions finished one shot worse than the 2016 winners in the "C" flight.

Wes BeMiller and Jan Schrock took home the prizes for men's and women's longest drive, respectively, while BeMiller was closest to the pin on the 17th hole. Dan Wolfson knocked in the longest putt on the ninth hole.

"Today is always a pleasant day of golf, but more importantly a great day of supporting our outstanding student-athletes, coaches, and institution," said athletic director Josh Gleason. "We are grateful to the many sponsors and golfers who put faces and names on the Maple Leaf fan base and make this event a success. Its growth is just one tremendous sign of the positive things going on within our department and college."

Formed in 1999, the Maple Leafs Athletic Club is is committed to furthering the mission of Goshen College through the pursuit of excellence in competitive athletics. Among their areas of investment are capital improvements, postseason travel, team-specific initiatives and the annual Champions of Character award, given on homecoming weekend. Click here for more information about the Maple Leafs Athletic Club.

"A" Flight
Joe Greasor, Ron Miller, Ted Springer, Charlie Steiner — 54
Evan Atkinson, Al BeMiller, Wes BeMiller, Arron Patrick — 54
Todd Driver, Pete McCown, Dzung Nguyen, Mike Schoeffler — 56
Josh Brown, Ethan Gingerich, Jeff Jurgonski, Russ Klassen — 57
Paul Gayler, Jason Heatwole, Ryan Miller, Phil Weins — 57
Erin Miller Milanese, Doug Nisley, Kendra Ramseyer, David Zehr — 60
Jay Anderson, Kevin Charles, Kelvin Wittmer, Todd Yoder — 61
Rod Hooley, Duane Schlabach, Ron Smith, Chad Stoltzfus — 66
Jeff Frantz, Mark Lindemood, Glen Stutzman, Vladimir Radivojevic — 66
Dave Birky, Barry Stoltzfus, Dave Weaver, Al Weldy — no score recorded

"B" Flight
Kevin Deary, Ken Hochstetler, John King, Gregg Nussbaum — 60
Garrett Cannizzo, Brock Reschly, Sam Reschly, Dan Wolfson — 61
Alex Childers, Bob Childers, Jonathan Childers, Paul DeJarnett — 62
Randy Detweiler, Kerri Fisher, Chris Herr, Jan Schrock — 62
Dave Kieper, Jim Reschly, Tom Reschly, Nick Waech — 65
Pete Gingerich, Brad Hartman, Jon Shellenberger, Jonathan Short — 66
Eldon Heatwole, Maurice Lehman, Ryan Miller, Andrew Snyder — 66
Doug Caskey, Jim Caskey, Lisa Caskey, Brian Mast — 68
Edith Cullen, Aaron Keister, RJ Perry, Jonathan Schrock — 69
Jon Huskins, Barry Kolter, Kathy Kolter, Kristen Kolter — no score recorded

Senior Flight
Wayne Lambright, Merle Mullett, Pete Short, Ken Warren — 63
Armon Kauffman, Bernie Kauffman, Jim Fisher, Bob Souder — 64
John Kauffman, Ray Hunsberger, John Weirich, Doug Yoder — 64
John Ingold, Dave Janzen, Doug Wellenreiter, Neal Young — 66
Ruth Guengerich, Mary Ann Miller, Suzie Short, Marlene Springer — 80